Dj's United

Hello Everyone,

I had the miss fortune that some neanderthal spilt a pint of larger down the back of my speaker.during the evening it smelt of burning, eventually sounding distorted, then silent.I feared the worst; that it was badly damaged.

I opened the speaker up next day after being next to a radiator in the house which was on.and found that where the cross over board was attatched to the cabinet was brown stained.I set up the equipment and it worked fine again.

So i guess my question is what should i do?

should i replace the cross over board with a new one?

should i clean the board with something?

should i replace the components on the cross over board?

should i do nothing?

look forward to your comments and thanks

regards

chris

Edited by superstardeejay

First I would edit your post to remove the swearing, the forum really frowns on it as most sections are open to the public.

I'm no electronics expert but it seems most likely that the lager was gradually absorbed into the components which led to the gradual loss and ultimate total failure of signal.

Although it may now seem fine I would have thought the components are permanently damaged. A beer shampoo can't have done them any good and there's every chance the problem will re-occur when you are driving the crossover hard.

If you are handy with a soldering iron and component identification then personally I would look at the cost of replacing every component on the board against the cost of just replacing it altogether. I certainly wouldn't run the risk of being in the middle of a wedding and losing one of my speakers.

Craig

Dance Sounds Disco

http://www.discosheffield.co.uk

I would remove the board and examine it under a good light to check for signs of stress. You say it works ok now, so it may just have been the damp that affected it, the amp wouldn't like it.