Dj's United

I Just Ain't Gotta Clue

Hi everyone

I am new to DJ's United so please be gentle I am starting up Karaoke Disco as a small hobby I recently Bought some great Speakers off Ebay. I need a great Amp to power them next..Would any of you guys be able to advise me what Amp would suit the job. Bear in mind if i am asked to do a pub or hall (not too big) I can be heard nice and clear. The speakers are IBIZA 3-way PA speakers (x2) Max input power is 300W RMS power 150W IMPEDANCE 8ohms

I have been adding on stuff as and when i can I Love Karaoke and looking at my next purchase of a Box light and Suited amp.

Please Advise :)

Regards

John

Whistling a Tune most people dance too

Hi, Welcome along.

When looking at and comparing Audio Equipment, always go off the RMS figure, this indicates what the speaker can handle continuously, and for long periods. Figures which refer to maximum values generally indicate the most power that the speaker can handle for extremely short bursts / periods - i.e seconds or fractions of a second.

There is also an old saying that your sound system is only as good as the weakest link in its chain, so for example if you had a £10,000 mixer and a £200 amplifier, basically the system would still only sound like a £200 one!. So it would be pointless paying £2000 out for a pair of speakers if you had only spent £150 on an amplifier, because the speakers would never get the full potential to sound like a pair of £2000 speakers should do - and vice-versa.